Kent is one of the 9 cities established behalf of Syrian King I. Selevkos Nikator (BC 321-280), who is one of the successors of Alexander the Great. Other known name of the city is Lyrbe. It has a very privileged importance by both of its workmanship and colorfulness and by having the portraits of seven famous philosophers such as Anaxagoras, Pythagoras, Demosthenes, Lycurgus, Thucydides and Salon. It is acknowledged that the structure with semi circle plan located in the south end of Agora, is the Parliament Building or concert hall and the well preserved small structure in the north, is the residuals of a temple. Apart from these, there is a Turkish bath, necropolis area and necropolis church, which is a late period structure.